October 10, 2014: Day 25 – A Day in the Life of a Watering Can (40 Days of Writing Challenge)

IMG_0692.JPG

I’ve decided to talk about what it is like to work in Human Resources (HR) using the above photo from the perspective of our plants. First off, you need to be crazy to work in the human resources department. The quirkier, the better.

Secondly, with the amount of things you hear and deal with in regards to employees, you cannot survive without a good sense of humour. Filterless Fridays are an excellent time for ridiculous stories and letting loose. Sometimes the filter is on for a more normal person in the team but something awesome sneaks out.

IMG_0693.JPG

The thing I love about being in HR is that I get to be a human resource. I’m not even trying to be funny…I feel like this area has opened me up and is like a conduit if my skills and abilities. Although I may have a more counselling based undergrad and am more of a techie in the department, I can see how I fit in this field.

I think what I have learned in the last year and a bit is that I thrive in a positive and supportive environment. I know that not every HR department at a company is like the one I am in, but because it’s the only one I know, I’m going to assume anyway. Without mutual recognition, a team, to me, is not really a team. It can be as simple as saying, “thank you” or “I appreciated that”. We like to use shout-outs where we write down the encouragement.

IMG_0694.JPG

Another advantage to being in HR is that you don’t have to go far when crisis hits. I barely found out about my Dad passing away and I was loved on and provided with information for bereavement in no time. I am blessed to have the kind of co-workers/teammates who know how to really be there for each other. And isn’t it usually the case that crisis can either bring you together as a team or tear you down?

IMG_0695.JPG

I am thankful to be apart of the HR team and that it has stretched me beyond what I could have imagined as a young professional.

IMG_0696.JPG

Leave a Reply

